European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System (ECTS)

Study achievements at higher education institutions are measured in accordance with the European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System (ECTS). Within the framework of the Bologna Process, the ECTS has become a key element in the standardisation of European study structures. ECTS is a system for the recognition, transfer and accumulation of learning experience, recognised in Europe.

The ECTS credits reflect the quantitative workload that students need in order to achieve the objectives of a degree programme. The objectives are usually defined in the form of learning outcomes and the skills to be obtained. One ECTS credit represents 25 to 30 working hours. An academic year is equivalent to 60 ECTS credits. In order to acquire a Bachelor's degree, 180 ECTS credits are required, while 90 to 120 ECTS credits are required for a Master's degree.

ECTS credits are only awarded to students after the successful assessment of the achieved learning outcomes. Learning outcomes are assessed, for instance, by means of oral examinations, written examinations, papers or written assignments etc.

This page in: Deutsch Français Italiano Rumantsch

Last update of this page: 26.07.2021