Education and certificates at UAS

Key terms: Accreditation of institutions for higher education / Bologna Process / European Credit Transfer and Accumulation System (ECTS) / Coordination in the higher education sector / Mobility and exchange

Study at Bachelor level and Master level

Education follows the two-tier study model with Bachelor's and Master's degrees in accordance with the Bologna Declaration. Unlike the universities, the universities of applied sciences do not offer doctoral studies.

Bachelor's degree programmes
Bachelor's degree programmes (180 ECTS points) generally provide qualifications linked with a vocational field. They enable direct commencement of professional practice. The full-time study programme takes three years; part-time study in combination with occupational work generally takes four years.

Master's degree programmes
The universities of applied sciences offer Master's degree programmes (90 to 120 ECTS points). In Master's degree programmes, more in-depth, specialised and research-based content is taught, leading the students to an advanced professional qualification. The study programme lasts one and a half to two years. The range of Master's degree programmes remains limited, because the profession-related Bachelor's degree is generally the norm at the universities of applied sciences. Degree programmes at Bachelor level and Master level lead to federally protected titles:

  • Bachelor of Arts BA or Bachelor of Science BSc (first tier of study)

  • Master of Arts MA or Master of Science MSc (second tier of study)

Continuing education and training

Universities of applied sciences offer a broad range of continuing education and training, including various courses and degree programmes. Master's degree programmes in continuing education and training lead to the Master of Advanced Studies (MAS) degree or, in the field of business and management, to the Executive Master of Business Administration (EMBA) degree. For the shorter programmes, the universities of applied sciences award the Diploma of Advanced Studies (DAS) and the Certificate of Advanced Studies (CAS).

Academic year

The academic year is split into two semesters. In the autumn semester, the courses begin in week 38; in the spring semester, they begin in week 8. Each semester lasts between 14 and 16 weeks.

This page in: Deutsch Français Italiano Rumantsch

Last update of this page: 20.03.2018